Newly Diagnosed

I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes in April. I was put into the hospital with keto acidosis. . My blood sugar was 388 going into the ICU. Now I am on lantus and humalog. I am 23 years old with depression and anxiety too. I have an amazing family but dealing with this is very hard. I graduated from college but barely. I missed two or three weeks of classes and fell behind in my senior seminar class and took an F in my other class. I also was doing an internship at the state capital and was not able to complete it. I will not get my diploma until I finish my paper. Before being diagnosed, I had every single symptom. I had lost 45 pounds during the last 8 months. Dry mouth and excessive water drinking was also a problem. I also had two major infections.

I wanted to connect with other young people who also have type one. So that is my story!

Yikes! I am not by any means a “young people” however it’s nice to meet you. Sorry to hear about your travails w/ school but I’m glad you’ll be able to graduate when you finish your paper!!

i was diagnosed in feb. in keto acidosis and my bg way 597 putting me in ICU for 5 days. it was my freshman year of college with my toughest classes on my plate to get into nursing school and had to withdrawl for the semester and i start summer school tomorrow morning to try and catch back up. i am just now getting the hang of everything so being a newbie too im know how you feel and i can try and help you as much as i can though i dont know as much as most people on here! im 19 now turning 20 in november!!

I don’t know anyone on here. We have similar stories. I feel we can help each other. I am turning 24 in November!