News from Faustman Lab: Study finds some insulin production in long-term type 1 diabetes

BOSTON – Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH) research has found that insulin production may persist for decades after the onset of type 1 diabetes. Beta cell functioning also appears to be preserved in some patients years after apparent loss of pancreatic function. The study results were published today in the March issue of Diabetes Care.

"Traditionally, it was thought that beta cell function completely ceased in patients with advanced type 1 diabetes. However, data from this study and others suggest that the pancreas continues to function at some level even decades after the onset of type 1 diabetes," says Denise Faustman, MD, PhD, director of the MGH Immunobiology Laboratory, who led the study.

Read more...

THANKS so much for this post, Emily. This is why I have been donating blood for the past 3 years to The Faustman Lab.. I think Dr. Faustmann's research is plausible AND possible. I know there will be effective treatments for many, if not a total cure, theough her research. This really keeps hope Alive!!!

God Bless.
Brunetta!

I found this article posted online (here, and not as a word document: http://www.eurekalert.org/pub_releases/2012-02/mgh-sfs021512.php ) earlier today, and find it encouraging. It provides some explanation to Dr. Faustman's earlier "mysterious" discovery that beta-cells regenerated under her BCG treatment. I suspect that they did not regenerate, but rather they continue to divide and multiply (is that a contradiction?) in all people, D or non-D, and halting the autoimmune process allows the cells to build-up to normal functioning levels.

Hopefully after nearly four decades of attack my pancreas hasn't went kaput. At this point I'd do any therapy to get off insulin. The articles above are really not anything new. The Faustman lab already confirmed these findings last June.

Thanks for posting this, Emily! Very interesting!

marty1492