Omnipod Settings: Different bolus settings for each meal

My doctor suggested me different bolus settings for each meal.

For instance he suggested for breakfast I should use 1 unit for every 6 grams of carbs.

For lunch, 1 unit for every 12 grams of carbs and 1 unit for every 8 grams of carbs in dinner.

Just wondering how to do it as Im new to omnipod.

Thanks in advance.

Your doctor is giving you very bad direction on this. Honestly, if he doesn't know about setting up the pump for insulin:carb ratios etc., you need to find another doctor.

There are four critically important settings on any pump, including the Omnipod, that need to be determined and set properly to handle boluses as safely as possible. These are found by going to Settings->System Setup->Bolus/basal/calcs->Ratios/factors/targets. These settings are:

• Target BG
    Start with this between 100-110 to be safer while working out the correct values for all these parameters. Later, as you decide what your own treatment goals and plan are, you can dial this down a bit if you want. I target 85 now that I'm totally dialed in.
  • IC ratio
    This is the number of carbs that will be covered by 1 unit of insulin. For example, if you eat a meal with 40 carbs, and your body needs 1U per 10g carb to fully metabolize it, then your IC ratio is 1:10. However, the actual ratio is store inverted -- C:I, so you would enter "10" for this parameter if your IC is 1:10. Mine's 1:4.
  • Correction Factor