Pls Reply: Will any potential USPS issues affect you?

Hi TuDiabetes community. I’m a journalist with Type 1 diabetes (going on 35 years) and I cover food/tech and sometimes diabetes related topics.

I’m helping out my endocrinologist Dr. Aaron Neinstein, who is at UCSF and is amazing. He is trying to determine what issues may be coming with all this USPS conversation. What you share here I will be sharing with him. He may write an op-ed on the topic, and might want to connect with you, so LMK if that is okay.

Pls share your experiences & thoughts on the USPS situation.
How could USPS slowdown impact you?
What are specific impacts you might experience as someone with diabetes?

3 Likes

Of Diabetes things to worry about, this is about #20 on my list. So really not concerned.

4 Likes

I worry about it a lot because insurance companies don’t allow us to stockpile our infusion sets and insulin etc.
That means we are beholden to the post office to get our supplies for the most part.
I can still get my insulin at the pharmacy but it is usually shipped to me.
My insulin pump supplies comes via mail only.
However I received my insulin via Fed x for the first time this past week.
I wonder if they got tired of the problems with the USPS.
Still they are the ones who set up the system and the mail boxes and all. I don’t think we can do without them.
This is not the first time when politics has impacted the lives of diabetics, and anyone with a chronic illness.
Some people live paycheck to paycheck. We live from shipment to shipment and the stress of missing it is high, and the reality can be catastrophic.

6 Likes

Thx Jim.

1 Like

I’m definitely keeping an eye on the situation - I’ve had a couple non-diabetes related packages delayed so far and keeping my fingers crossed that the situation settles before I need my next dexcom transmitter (I don’t have any backup transmitters but am ok with sensors).

2 Likes