Pump Vacation/Tresiba

Hi everyone! I’ve been pumping for 15 years, was on Medtronic for most of them and recently switched about 2 years ago to the TSlim. The tslim is great in terms of aesthetics and I love it’s ability to communicate with my beloved Dexcom. HOWEVER, lately I’ve been having MANY pump related issues- whether it’s a bad site or something else (I SWEAR sometimes despite removing the air from the cartridge some is still slipping in leaving me with high BGs) ANYWAY, I’ve decided to take a small vacation from the pump for the first time in literally 15 years. Needless to say, I am scared. A few questions for my friends out there using Tresiba/those who have switching from pumping back to MDI:

1. What time are you taking your Tresiba? My endo said to take it at night time, but I see lots of variations. She also dosed me based off of my daily basal dose which I suppose is a good place to start.

2. Um, so I just inject at bedtime (or whichever time I choose) and take my pump off? How does this transition work?

3. Has anyone experienced weight gain with Tresiba? I’ve read that some posters have and this girl CANNOT afford to gain any more weight. The struggle is pretty real as it is.

4. Lastly, I noticed in the side effect pamphlet not to drink alcohol with Tresiba? I’m not a heavy drinker by any means but do enjoy a glass of wine every now and then, and didn’t think that was a thing at all until I (diligently) took the time to read the pamphlet LOL.

Any advice would be much appreciated! Kinda (very) nervous to make the switch

2 Likes