Question on best meter

I am new to the sight. I have had diabetese around 5 yeras. So Glad to have support. I need a new meter…I have been using Walgreens’ drug store brand…“True Track” any suggestions on what meter is best?

ty so much…I appreciate the advice

I am using the One Touch Ultra Smart and love it. It has input options on the meter so you can label your BG reading before/after meals, exercise, etc. It also has BG analysis/averages/graph, etc. It also has the software option (about $30 for software and cable) to download into their management software where you can gather all sorts of information and graphs and logs and print them out the take to your appointments. The new strips seem to be all calibrated to code 25, so I have no had to change any codes. I find they are fairly accurate when compared to lab readings done at the same time. Meter choices vary by personal preference, but these are the reasons I like the one I use.

ty So much…

I used 3 fifferent kinds"
1-accu chek active,sweet,but simple,the strips take the average,so the result isn’t always accurate.bulky.
2-optioum Exceed\this was recommended,or forced,by the clinic on me,since it measures ketones(I’m type 1,but I just thought I would share :slight_smile: )
same problem above,it takes the average ,small and discreet,back light.
3-the last one,Contour,I just liked it,it seems good,so I bought it,really nice,you can mark readings according to(bf\af)meal and reminders to test,no back light,big screen.
hope it helps :slight_smile:

The best meter out there is going to be the one who has the basic features for your daily needs.

• Do you need to save money on strips? (ie, True Track, and Side Kick from Walmart)
  • Do you need a small, very portable meter? (ie, One Touch Ultra Mini)
  • Do no need a meter you can grasp easily, and not need to remember to code it, or deal with individual strips that might easily fall off your hands? (ie, Bayer Breeze2)