Question on Lantus going bad "early"

So, I was diagnosed with late onset Type 1 about 10 months ago and I’m still a bit of a newb about this here so I have a question about Lantus. Sorry if this is flat out dumb.

I’ll start by noting that my endo says that if I have a question about an insulin to pop a new pen and see if that fixes the problem. If it does, throw out the old pen. If not and the problem persists, call him. Awesome.

Also, because people will ask: I keep my unopened pens in a fridge that’s set to 44°F. After they’re opened they sit, when not in use, in another fridge that’s running about the same, sometimes up to 46°, but that’s probably me opening the door more often since that’s also a food fridge. When I have to take a pen out of the house I pack it up with a travel cold pack since it’s summer and it’s regularly 90°F+ here and a motorcycle doesn’t have AC… So generally I’m keeping this stuff pretty well chilled. House runs on a swamp cooler but it’s not getting over 80°F that I know of ever.

The issue:

A few weeks ago I noticed that my bolus doses didn’t seem to be doing what I thought they should do. I’d spike slightly higher than I expected and then not come down as far as I thought I should. Over the course of a few days this got worse with higher spikes and higher returns. At that point I was adding a 0.5 to 1.5 units of Humalog to get the desired result.

Then on day five of this I went out fly fishing and noticed that when I didn’t eat for about 6 hours my sugars started to tick up (Freestyle Libre 14 day) on my graph. Hrmmm… that night I switched Lantus pens and BAZINGA everything goes back to normal… well, as normal as Type 1 is I guess. Nice. From then on it’s cough smooth sailing.