Raw For 30 Days, new film about diabetes and raw food

Hi All-

My mother has diabetes and I am trying to get her on the raw food diet. I saw the trailer to the film “Raw For 30 Days” and became inspired. I’m also trying to go raw in order to prevent the onset of diabetes later in life. Anyone here using raw foods as a way to reverse and manage his/her diabetes?

Take a look at the trailer at:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=jSuqCMld00w

Let me know what you think.

Hi, Josh,
I have been doing a lot of raw food for the last several months and I find that it is a great way to manage my diabetes. I have early Type 1 and originally thought raw food might slow down the autoimmune processes that are destroying my beta cells. I eat sprouted whole grains for breakfast, with some fruit, and a huge salad for lunch, which includes alfalfa sprouts, sprouted peas and lentils, walnuts, apple and cheese. I no longer use insulin for either of these meals and have only a small rise in my BG. I have seen an improvement in my fasting BG numbers but I still get the usual high BG if I eat high carb foods, including fruit and fruit juices. So a raw food diet has been great for me in managing my Diabetes but hasn’t reversed it by any means. However I am Type 1 and it might be different for a Type 2. I’d be happy to discuss this more with your mom as it has been really wonderful for me.

Hey Josh,

Though the movie is being screened for Sun dance right now, I had the great opportunity to talke with the creator/producer of the film and he is a really great guy. I would definitely encourage your mother to watch it.