Red flags?

I use an internist and a cardiologist. I see the cardiologist once a yr. I have been treating my own diabetes for the last 30 yrs. I give injections several times a day and use a G6 which is great when it is accurate. I also finger test my blood several times a day. I was dx in 1959 and am in very good shape.

All my internist does is check my A1c 4 times a yr and shakes his head and tells me that I have the lowest A1c he has ever seen. He doesn’t ask me why it is so low or how I achieve these numbers. I doubt that he understands TIR etc. I don’t really care, since he will give me the insulin prescriptions I need.

On my chart it says that I have had heart failure. I do have two heart stents that I received after 50 yrs of type 1 and after following the Bernstein diet for too long. My heart did not stop and the stents weren’t due to an emergency.

I explained that to him, and he said, “Well you are a diabetic, and people with diabetes die from heart failure so heart failure is accurate.”

Do you think he is accurate in saying I have heart failure?

He also said that if I was ever in the hospital, the hospitalist would figure out how much insulin I would need. I was trying to get my chart changed because it says that I take 45 units of Novolog and I actually take 9-12 units. I want the prescription to say I take a few more than 12 units because I use pens and need to expel a couple of units each time I give a shot, but no where close to 45 units. I am afraid that the hospitalist would see that and give me too much insulin.

I was seeing this doctor’s partner, but he retired. The doctor I am complaining about also helped save my husband’s life, when he recommended getting an endoscopy instead of treating him for an ulcer. Turns out my husband had esophageal cancer and catching it very early helped immensely. That is why I am conflicted about looking for a new physician.

This doctor also asked me why I am concerned about living a long life….

6 Likes