Running long distances

I have been working in children endocrinology since 1989.There are plenty of my patients with type 1, going in for sport (ice hockey,aikido,athletics,dance,soccer,rugby)
Since I ran my first marathon in 2008, I got interested if people with diabetes (especially type 1, but type 2 is also VERY interesting) run long distance.I tried to imagine possible problems and its resolve but you know better, how far life can be from any theory.
I would be pleased to hear about your personal experience in running.

I do a bit of running, but haven’t gotten to the marathon stage yet. I was diagnosed T1 two years ago and up until then I had only run as a way to stay in shape for other sports and had never done more than a 10km run. Last year I started running on somewhat of a regular basis and got to the point of a half marathon, when I tweaked my ankle and it was winter by the time my ankle was feeling 100%. Living in Canada I don’t run outside much in the winter, I mostly do indoor volleyball and downhill skiing. Winter ran extremely long this year, so I have only been running a few times this year usually 10 km runs. The idea of running a marathon still interests me and I may attempt it by this fall. I don’t find that being T1 is much of a problem for running once you have your glucose burn rate determined it is just a matter of taking the right amount of sugar and go running, I usually test every 30 minutes or so when running and try to keep my bg between 8 - 11 mmol/l during the run and burn around 30 grams per hour when running. A major benefit of running or any other heavy cardio is that it drastically reduces your need for basal insulin.

I have had type 1 since I was 7 years old. I am now 25 and running in my third marathon in 2 days. I wear a pouch around my waste that I put three GU gel packs in for the duration of the run. As of a year I wear the continous glucose monitoring system. I can see exactly what my sugar is doing throughout a run.