Scar tissue?

I've been using a OneTouch Ping for around two years now, with the Inset 30 infusion sets. I have a fairly slim, muscular build, and don't have a lot of fat to stick canulas into. I've been using my stomach and hips, mostly, but now I've got crazy scar tissue all over. I hate using my legs (the whole thing always rips right off) and my arms ( i can never get to the infusion site). I'm wondering- is there a way to break up scar tissue? or a way to more easily use my arms and legs?

Wow. That's a question for the Women-Folk. We men just point 'em out and claim they're shrapnel from the war. :)

Serious question: Are you allergic to the teflon cannula in the Inset infusion set? Ever think about trying a steel cannula?

You shouldn't be scarring like this. Something rather woofie (tech term!) is going on here.

I never even thought of that! Thanks super much. I'm going to for a checkup sometime next week, so i'll make sure to ask. But, if that was the case, would i still be left with lumpy, numb-feeling skin months later?

Potentially... yes. That's what scar tissue is. Lumpy and numb. But everyone reacts a bit differently. Some folks react with redness, itching, or whatnot right after insertion. Others find it's a more progressive process over days, weeks or even months. It's all up to your body how, when, and how much, it reacts.

Something else to look at: a smaller diameter cannula. You might contact these folks for a sample of an Luer-lock type infusion set with a really *tiny* cannula:

Link: http://www.orbitinfusionsets.com

They are also just a *wee* bit shorter. If you're one of these twiggy little wimmen (notice tongue planted firmly in cheek here), you might benefit from this.

All though I've been pumping for many years I thought scarring was inevitable. I know some people are prone to develop scars. Hopefully you'll get an answer at your appointment.