Scuba Diving with dexcom G5

Could anyone please share the experience of scuba diving wearing the Dexcom ? Did anyone try it already ? Is it possible ? How long does the receiver support and how deep ? For how long ? Thank you for sharing !!!

Disclaimer : I have no experience with this but would think that it would be difficult. I could be completely off base but first you’d have to waterproof the receiver with a case or some sort of waterproof pouch/container. I don’t believe the Dex transmits very well underwater.

Hi Mike Thank you. Actually I’m worried if the part that stays connected to the body and is waterproof will survive the pressure and the depth . It will definitely not transmit any data because of the density of the water. Just wondering if anyone have tried. But thank you!

Hi Martina-

funny you should ask, I was just researching this a few days ago, as I was trying to figure out if there was a way to get my T1D son certified.

What I found:

• the G4 and G5 transmitter/sensor pairs appear to be waterproof to 8ft (although I am finding slightly contradictory info)
  • the last guy in this thread appears to have destroyed his Dexcom transmitter afer a few shallow surface dives (not even scuba), but was able to remove a transmitter pre-scuba-dive, then reattach it to the sensor post-dive and get it to work (so the sensor had not been damaged by the dive).
  • there are many threads around asking about putting a G4 or G5 in a pressure vessel, but I have not found any that recorded a MO. I may not have searched enough though.

As a caveat, the symptoms of nitrogen narcosis are very close to that of a sugar low.