Silly questions

Im new to insulin and have some silly questions I forgot to ask my GP if anyone can set me straight.

1. Is it possible to drop your fasting bg levels 100 pts with basal alone or would I need a bolus regime as well?

2. If 1u of insulin drops bg a certain amount ie. 50mg/dL what does 10u of basal do over 24 hours? Why does it just keep it steady?

3. Why can’t someone just eat something wait and see what happens to their levels and then take rapid acting (correction) to bring it down? Why do you try and predict what it will do, dose and then go low or high depending on how right you were? Is there such a thing as a “correction” regime?

4. I’ve never had a hypo as far as I know. why would that be? The highest I’ve been ever is 288. Lowest was 86 and I didn’t feel that bad (obviously because it’s not that low). What is the science behind why all of a sudden taking insulin means ill suddenly have bad lows?

2 Likes

It’s not only possible but practical. But do it gradually and incrementally until you reach the equilibrium you seek. And bolus insulin isn’t for controlling fasting BG. Its job is to prevent (or, failing that, to knock down) transient spikes, regardless of whether caused by food or something else. Don’t confuse the roles of basal and bolus insulin. They are distinct and separate tools for distinct and separate jobs.

People do that all the time. It’s not the ideal course, however, because it’s reactive (after the fact) rather than proactive (preventive). Which relates directly to the next question–

Because the goal is to stay as close to the normal range as possible for as much of the time as possible. The technical term for this is “time in range” and you want to maximize it to the greatest practical degree. The less time you spend with abnormally high BG, the better the odds for long term health.[quote=“PemW, post:1, topic:58288”]