Stress Basal?

I'm only half kidding. I'm just wondering if anyone has any tried and true methods (or just some hare-brained ideas too!) for dealing with the highs that come with stress. I work as a counsellor so I find I'm great with coping with the emotional side of stress, yet I seem powerless to translate that into keeping my sugars in line.

For example, today I gave a talk to a group of stroke survivors. I know enough to get plenty of rest, test frequently, eat my normal meals, engage in meditation and mindfulness... all of those things helped me to feel confident and relaxed. I was thrilled with how the talk went. But nonetheless, my numbers, which have been great the past couple of weeks, have been persistently and resistently high all day. (Had been averaging in the 6-8 mmol range, today more like 14 to 16 even with correction boluses galore!).

As much as I'd like to say it's just coincidence, this "coincidence" of high sugars happens whenever I do something that is stressful for me (and as an introvert, public speaking is way up there).

So I am partly venting, partly hoping someone has some strategies they use for the actual insulin dosing and numbers game. For the record, I am Type 1, on a pump, generally testing 10-15 times per day.

Thanks!

My basal profile is set to deliver more insulin to tackle weekday mornings. When I need to get the kids out the door, and in a great mood for school :) It was funny to me when I finally pin pointed the source of the high BG. I do childcare and consider myself a very patient and generally relaxed person, just not first thing in the morning!

Now dealing with unpredictable or prolonged stress is more challenging, I find my BG can be quite variable. I just test frequently and correct when needed. I have experienced prolonged stress in the past and changed my basal pattern (increased my basal 20%).

Hi Crystal -