Sugar free cake?

Is it possible to make a sugar free cake? If anyone has a recipe I sure would appreciate it! If not sugar-free, than something acceptable?
Patricia

The sugar is the least harmful component what are you going to do about starch? My wife made a Pavlova which is a merange with fruit if it can be made with splenda instead of sugar it would be “diabetically friendly” and it is super yummy. I will try to get my son to scan the receipy or even better if my wife can make it with splenda and it turns out ok.

ooh I love Pavlova- a staple when I studied abroad in Australia! I just got some passion fruit topping from Netrition, that totally reminds me of traditional pavlova. Let me know when you post the recipe!

Patricia, Saliva contains an enzyme that starts breaking down starches (flour is an example) before they even hit your stomach. So cake, bread, english muffins, bagels, corn bread, etc. will cause your blood glucose level to spike. The thing to remember is that sugar free is not necessarily diabetic friendly for a type 2 diabetic.

I understand about cake, bread, etc. not being good for me. But I look at all the recipes on the Splenda website and they look good! We are having a family birthday gathering this weekend and we’re trying to come up with something diabetic-friendly for dessert. I’m thinking I’ll just take some freshly baked bran muffins and everybody will have to live with it. What about the no-sugar added ice cream, or sugar free ice cream? I haven’t looked at it in the grocery so don’t know the ingredients exactly. Probably has high fructose corn syrup in it or something like that. I’ve only been diagnosed as Type 2 for a little over a week so I’m still very much in the learning curve. Tomorrow I’m going to a Diabetes Wellness Center to meet with a Nutritionist, hopefully I’ll be better educated after that. Right now I’m pretty much scared to eat anything!