Swimming Faster than Sugar

So I am very new to all the D stuff, but just when I think I am getting a handle on it, I am thrown a curve that reminds me of just how out of control this disease can be. Don’t get me wrong, after spending a lot of time on here the last month or so, I think I am pretty lucky to be able to manage my blood sugar with some pretty standard schedules in both food and exercise.

For starters, I exercise twice daily and schedule my regimen around my meals. This works well with breakfast and dinner and I am able many time to have lower BS 1 hour postprandial that my pre-prandial numbers. That along with a low carb diet, I am usually <80 at 1 hour and then I’ll see a slightly higher rise in the second hour but well below 120. By hour 3 my BS is back in the 85-90 range. Lunch is little tougher as I don’t have time to eat and exercise so I just make sure I stay low carb and let my BS go where it may, but usually its <135 at 1 hr, 100 at 2 hr then back to normal. All in all pretty good, although Tuna fish is long in the tooth so to speak.

Exercise is pretty straight forward for me and thank god I have always been a pretty active person, with the exception of the last few years, but that’s another story. In the morning, I do 3-4 miles on a treadmill in about 45 minutes. Then in the evening I either swim (hopefully) or run out at couple more miles if the pool isn’t an option. As long as I don’t mess with too much, this system works pretty well and my numbers are stable day after day.