Switch fr0m lantus t0 levimir

i recently switched fr0m lantus t0 levemir because 0f the pain and burn 0f lantus. i was 0n 2 units 0f lantus at night and switched t0 1 unit 0f levimir in am and an0ther in pm. my readings f0r the first week were 0k but n0w my am readings are a bit high (up t0 115 t0 120).
sh0uld i up the d0se in the pm t0 2 and keep the 1 in the am 0r just keep the d0sage the same and d0 the wh0le thing at night?
im h0neym00ning and 0f c0urse frantic that this is the end but read s0mewhere that s0metimes y0u need m0re levemir if y0u switch.

I'm pretty new to diabetes too, but Levemir dosage is more complicated than Lantus, cause the ratio of units by your body weight affects how many hours it lasts. So it is impossible to say without knowing your weight, and also, 1 unit will be very little in relation to your weight even if you weigh 100lb, so that will probably not be covered by the informational graph that tells you how long it lasts.

I take considerably more than you, though, and the graph has helped me time my split Levemir dosage correctly.

I personally don't set much store by formulas, as they are just guidelines. Weight is only one factor in determining insulin dose. You are a bit high, but not that much in the morning, so increasing by a unit, unfortunately may be too much. But if your morning numbers continue a bit high you might try adding a unit and just test a lot to make sure you don't go low. Levemir is best given in a split dose. If you increase it to 2 at night just maybe set an alarm and test during the night for a couple days. As Jan says, timing is also important and you might have to play with it a little to get it exactly right. It's hard when you are very insulin sensitive and can only adjust by whole units!

Switching my night Levemir from 8pm (I take the morning one at 8am) to 10pm made all the difference in my fasting blood sugars, at the same dosage. So it might be a matter of taking it a bit later at night.