Symlin post meal

Has anyone tried symlin right after vs right before eating? My though is you would avoid the lows by digesting a few carbs and slow digestion to avoid the spikes along with appetite suppression?

Hi Frances -

Yes, I’ve done this - but only when I was already going low before eating. So I ate a few carbs, then 10-15 min I injected the Symlin. This works fine. But normally, I do it before because first, I’m on a very low carb diet already and second, Symlin before helps me avoid that awful “narcoleptic” reaction when I eat any food.

I did this as well to avoid the low. The problem really was that I was on too much symlin. My usage of it has titrated downward as I have lost weight.

One other thing to think about is that you will lose the appetite suppression effect. For me, if I eat too much and then take my Symlin, it is entirely possible that I will get sick because there is too much food in my stomach

Thanks Scott. Im new to Symlin and not totally understanding the dosage. I was told by my NP to increase the dose every few days in 15mcg increments up to 60mcg. I was having lows in the 40s at 45 mcg, then spiking to the 300s. So I cut back to 30 then 15. I like the appetite suppression at 30, but still had the lows and rebounding highs. I would like to get back up to 30mcg to cut appetite more. Any suggestions? Right now I take 15 before meal, eat, then square insulin for 30 min. Also, do you ever adjust the amount of symlin according to what you will eat/ time of day/ activity level like we do with insulin?

Thanks Cheri. When you do take the symlin post meal, when do you take your insulin? Do you do an extended bolus? On a low carb diet do you take less symlin than if you would eat more carbs?