Tresiba help!

Does anyone know if tresiba is better taken at night or in the morning. My 9 year old daughter just switched from lantus at night and now she is taking tresiba at the same time at night .she is spiking in the middle of the night even after increased dosage . She went from 214 at 8pm before bed to 288 at 4am . I know that’s high before bed but even if shes in range she spikes .Shes on 4.5 units and was at 3. I dont understand tresiba fully but I’m about to pull my hair out with these night time spikes . Should I split the dosage??,

Here’s some info until a Tresbia user finds your post: Tresiba Basal Insulin - #358 by tonilynn20

You asked this on another forum. I’ll repeat the answer I gave there since you may not have seen it.

I have been using Tresiba for over two years. It is my favorite of all the basal insulins I have used (NPH,Lantus,Levemir). It can be taken either in the evening or in the morning. Ponder (of Sugar Surfing fame) takes it in the evening. I take it in the morning because it is easier for me to remember to always take my dose as part of my morning routine. You can try both and see which works better, but for now I would recommend picking one and sticking with it, and focus on adjusting the amount needed, which I assume your doctor is in the process of doing.

BTW, 4.5 units per day is by no means a large dose (I take more than four times that, but of course I am older and larger) so finding out how much she needs can only be done in the way your doctor is doing it: making small incremental adjustments and carefully checking the results via BG testing.