Type 1 About to Begin Peritoneal Dialysis

I’ve had Type 1 for 20 years and now my kidneys are failing. I’ve been using an insulin pump successfully for the past 4 years. In three days I am having surgery to implant a catheter for peritoneal dialysis. Has anyone been through this?

Hi Alison! I’m sorry to read about your kidney problems, but I have a feeling that once you start on the peritoneal dialysis, you’ll feel much better.

My father, who suffers from hypertension (which caused his kidneys to fail), recently underwent a successful kidney transplant. Before his transplant, he was on peritoneal dialysis. Although there were some of the typical issues (infections, etc.), I think his overall experience with it was positive. It allowed him to continue with his job, and he was even able to travel with it - he flew from NH to MD to give me away at my wedding.

Are there any specific questions that you have?

Are you on a transplant list?

Thanks for the response, Shannon. Yes, I’m on the transplant list for a pancreas and kidney. For the time being I’m focusing on diaysis. I am best with one hurdle at a time. I’m mostly curious to hear from others that have had this about the day to day routine of things. Are there comfort issues? Is showering alot of work? What happens if something interrupts the actual dialysis? What about if you’re sick?

I’m so pleased to hear how well your dad is doing. That walk down the aisle is something so precious between us girls and our daddys!

im just 3 years diabetic… im so sorry to hear that… i’m scared myself when the time comes that the complications will start to overcome my system! but as long as im ok, i’ll live life to the fullest…