What Events are you Entering These Days?

I’m entered in the Long Beach 1/2 Marathon for this upcoming weekend - October 14, 2007. I’ve been training religiously for the past two months, although I fell off schedule this weekend due to college football games (attending- not playing :))

I hope to finish in 2:30:00 or less. I’m not a speedy guy.

If you’re training for an event or have one coming up - post it here and gather a cheering section.

Terry

Good luck in the 1/2 Terry. There’s a 10K in my area the same day, but I won’t be able to run it :frowning: I have to help move my daughter, who’s at college, instead. Remember, the goal is to “finish”, time really isn’t important (especially for old guys like us).

Here’s an entry about my experience at the half-marathon, with a decidedly diabetic pov.

http://www.tudiabetes.com/profiles/blog/show?id=583967%3ABlogPost%3A53680

Terry

Sounds awesome Ter.
I entered in a run for diabetes on Oct 20th, yet I’m having trouble finding out how long it will be, so its gonna be a surprise.
Its the first diabetes marathon I have entered since I was diagnosed 11 years ago, I’m expectedly excited.
I started running 6 weeks ago, long before I entered the marathon, and I’m about to step up the running.

A local sports store sponsored a 5k in town this weekend, the first we’ve had here for awhile. Turn out was pretty good, about 500 runners and walkers. I hope it becomes an annual event.

I decided to run to the starting line as a way of warming up. Stupidly I didn’t pull up a map to calculate the distance which I guessed to be a little more than a mile, but which turned out to be 1.7 miles. Yikes!! I arrive three minutes before the starting horn.