What rapid and long acting insulin combo do you use?

I've been using aphidra for a few months now after being forced to switch to it from Humalog (Humalog is not currently available in Philippines). I've decided I don't like Aphidra. It's action doesn't feel as neat and defined as I experienced with Humalog. I would go back to Humalog today, if I could get it.

So my only other choice for fast acting would be Novalog (insulin aspart), it seems, so I'm going to try that when I have to buy new fast acting in a couple of days.

All along, I've been using Humalin-N as my basal. However, after seeing my daughter's endo a few weeks ago, she asked why on earth I was still on Humalin-N instead of a newer insulin. I replied, 'because it works'. But then got to thinking, does it really work? Because although humalin-N seems to cover me well overnight and into fasting in the morning, when I take the morning dose I will invariably go low by lunch time.

My current solution is to skip the morning dose of Humalin-N and skip breakfast. I will take my first meal either as lunch or dinner depending on my works schedule / how I feel, and just cover it with fast acting, as required (I am playing around with the concept of intermittent fasting)... if I don't eat my blood sugar is typically quite good (except overnight into fasting, which I definitely need insulin for).

So what's a good combo to go with my Novalog trial? I read that Lantus has higher igf-1 receptor affinity and has been shown to cause higher levels of antibody production than human insulin, so this would leave levermir.

What combos of insulin are most people on?

Hi Sally
When i was on shots, i used Novolog and Levemir. They are both from NovoNordisk, so same brand, they should work together well. You inject it twice a day.
At the end, you still have to find out what works best for you, i have never used Lantus so i can't tell you anything about that.