Why am I gaining weight

I am new to all this so please forgive me if this is a “stupid newbie” question.

:slight_smile:

A couple of months ago I was diagnosed with type one, and literally on Monday of this week I had my first full day of normal sugars. Yay!
Throughout this whole ordeal I have been gaining weight. My question is WHY.

I can’t seem to stop it from happening.
A little background.
I am an active person who enjoys being outside and doing things. Because of a recent back injury I have had to keep my exercising low impact so no more mountain biking, or surfing for a while. According to my back surgeon I need to build up my core muscles for a couple more months before I can get back into any of that. I have been doing yoga to build up those muscles without hurting my back.

So right now my cardio exercise comes in the form of walking. I carry a pedometer and I am up to almost 13 thousand steps a day. Most of that is done after dinner power walking with my wife. That is a good workout. By the time I am finished I am nice and tired, and my blood sugar is usually in the low 100’s.

My diet was slightly modified my endo team to include 60 carbs per meal. Previous to that I was eating more like 30-40 carbs per meal. I also keep the calories down to 2200 a day.

So there it is.

I can’t figure out why I am gaining weight.

Does anyone have any incite as to why this is happening.

Thanks

-Ian

I happen to have done a lot of research lately on weight gain (I’m trying to gain some) and general health issues, and it turns out insulin is the hormone that causes your body to store fat. The more carbohydrates you eat and the more insulin you use, the more weight you’ll gain. I’d go for lower carb, and it will probably help your sugars as well. Anyway, don’t take my work for it, listen to this Gary Taubes lecture. I’ve become a huge fan of him. This is not the standard lecture on dieting and weight loss.

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=4362041487661765149