Worrying about my blood sugar level

Hey guys,

Hi, I am new to this forum and to be honest with all of you, I have some serious cause of worry that has brought me here and so I'm hoping to get some answers over here about the current situation that I'm in.

I have been living with Diabetes for quite a while now and have been actively taking care of it with sometimes having a couple of bumps here n there. However, now I am studying in Canada and have been having some problems regarding my blood sugar levels and so have a few questions being from very generic to very serious questions:

1. Would rice krispies as a daily breakfast cereal be a good option for me?

2. I take my injections (Humapen - Huminsulin 30/70) twice every day before my meals. So I just wanted to know as to how much sugar does one unit i.e. 1 drop of insulting, from my humapen, burn?

3. Yesterday I forgot to take my medicine before my meal and had a pretty unhealthy meal and after 2 hours i realized that i had forgotten to take the dose. So when I checked my blood sugar (on an AccuChek Go) it showed me 306mg/dl. So I just took 10 units of the insulin to reduce it a "little bit" for the time being till I had my dinner, which is when I would again take my normal dosage of insulin. But later before dinner, i again checked my blood sugar level and was surprised to see my sugar level to be only 35mg/dl. And this was without any exertion of any physical work out. So in short what I could not understand was that how could only 10 units of insulin bring down my sugar level by 270mg/dl (i.e. from 306 to 35mg/dl).
Could somebody please guide me here !!!