A little downer, but what happens as we age?

I am approaching 60. I have a pump and a CGM, plus the meter. What happens if I am unable to control all this technology? I am an adult learner professional and have made quick reference cards for my husband. But, as wonderful as he is, it freaks him out.

I know this is a downer topic, but WHAT DO WE DO? How do we teach our potential caregivers? How do we ensure that medical caregivers can help us over time? Do you have a plan?

I would appreciate discussion, please!

I know what you mean. I am a few years older than you. I too have a pump (Omnipod) and CGM (Dexcom). At this point, I only worry about my husband being able to assist me. What I do is ocassionally have him turn the pump off. To me that’s important in case I’m low and can’t do it myself. I have also had him test my blood. I haven’t had him give me any insulin at this point because I was mainly thinking about me being unable to do things myself due to low blood sugars. But you bring up a good point about taking care of us due to age. I sure hope I have a few more years before I have to worry about it, but you never know.

Intesting subject.

Linda

Like you, I’m approaching 60. I worry about being on Medicare and losing insurance coverage for things such as my Dexcom. Combine that with the difficulty of getting covered for more than 3-5 test strips a day. Scary.

But what I do fear the most is when I get to the point that I cannot take care of myself. Actually there is probably not much reason to worry because I fear a hospital or nursing home will kill me on my first day by giving me a Type 2 insulin dose. I am incredibly insulin sensitive and equally carb sensitive. My TDD of Novolog on my pump is currently 18.5. I don’t think that too many medical professionals understand the difference between Type 1 and Type 2. So when I hit a BG of 250 or 300, some well-meaning doctor or nurse will give me 10 units of insulin. And then it will be Good Night Irene.