Afrezza while sick?

I’ve been using Afrezza for about two years now with no problems. However, over the past couple weeks I got bronchitis that started as some sinus problems. I went to the PCP this week and I’m on some antibiotics because the cough has not gone away. Other than the cough with congestion, I feel perfectly fine. I realized, however, that while I have had the cough, I have not decreased the amount of Afrezza I’m taking and I take a good amount since it is my main insulin.

I’m starting to wonder if doing this much Afrezza with this bronchitis is just making my cough worse. For now, I’ve swapped back to novolog for ‘fast’ acting. Anyone have experience with this? I’m going to call my endo on Monday.

I used afrezza for about a year 2017-2018 and stopped after I had pneumonia. I also went to the general practitioner for a chronic cough and he laughed at my afrezza usage and pulled out the side effects flyer which includes coughing and possible bronchitis. My lung tests dropped a little, but they were still in normal range, however, I never used it if I was sick… it just seemed to make me sick longer

I’ve never had any side effects with Afrezza or decreased lung capacity. My pcp really didn’t think I have pneumonia because I exhibited no symptoms except cough+congestion.

@roger5 Was it determined that Afrezza was the cause of your pneumonia?

That was my general practitioner’s opinion “absolutely” were his words… I also switched jobs, and with different insurance or Cigna, they said n.o. spells nuh-uh. But I only miss it occasionally… especially when I’m on a long drive and my blood sugar slowly rises, or when I have to take s 2nd or 3rd correction bolus, but my lungs feel better and I have more room is in my refrigerator

Curious on how things played out?

I’ve been using Afrezza for about 2 years as well. I’ve not had any problems with pneumonia though.