All good Docs quit

All the good Docs in town have quit practicing. Are you seeing this in your area? What is this about?

Seeing some bum makes everything worse, not better. I’m comfortable seeing a primary care who can simply write prescriptions, but I’m a little confused about this market reshuffling and the implications.

2 Likes

COVID brought teleheath into the mainstream.

My insurance (CIGNA) is advertising it as part of one’s overall health plan.

I haven’t seen my current endo IRL ever—it’s been all video visits for 2 years and I’m not even 2 miles from her office.

1 Like

I feel like a LOT of people have been retiring lately too - I work in a hospital and we’ve had a rush of retirements over the past 2 years, partly due to Covid and partly due to pension plan issues. It seems like a lot of docs in my area (heavily saturated with physicians) are older and I’m worried about what will happen when they are all retired.

2 Likes

We have a huge shortage of doctors. It’s costly to live here and they really don’t pay that great. We have federal fill in doctors because of our shortage. A bunch of doctors quit or left and the people that lost their doctors were even told to go to urgent care for a while for their basic needs.

We don’t have an endo on our island but we used to have one that “visited” once a month. The DE here used to handle most standard diabetics for care. But with covid the endo switched to video visits as a safer alternative. She likes it as she doesn’t really need to see people in person and she isn’t trying to fly back and forth. It’s worked fine with me and she has always been good about responding quickly to any med request or question by e-mail.