All you numbers people! (Thyroid antibodies ?)

Does anyone know if the high level of antibodies can make you more or less susceptible to developing thyroid disease? I have the antibodies and the normal threshold is 0-34, but mine is 106. I don’t have any symptoms though of thyroid disease or anything that really is bothering me in that regard. I was just curious though. I am wondering if the higher the number the more likely you are to develop the disease?

I’m no expert on this subject but I did a quick search and thyroid antibodies are predictive of eventual emergence of Graves or Hashimotos (it depends on which antibody you tested positive for). This paper suggests that if you don’t have abnormal thyroid function but have antibodies that “antibodies to Tg and TPO are present in Graves disease and Hashimoto thyroiditis up to 7 yr before clinical diagnosis and are elevated compared with controls.” It also says that antibody levels rise over time and should be monitored. It also says that your doctor should monitor your thyroid function and antibody levels with an eye towards treating you when and if you end up with Graves or Hashimotos. I know a number of people with Graves and Hashimotos who have T1. Unfortunately, if you have one autoimmune disorder you have a much greater chance of getting other autoimmune disorders. There is even a name for this, it is called multiple autoimmune syndrome.

I am sorry to not have good news. I feel for you and wish you the best.

I’m pretty sure that thyroid issues are more common to diabetics. Hypothyroid is also not that uncommon for middle aged women. My Doc has checked my thyroid 1,000 times. Nothing goofy has ever shown up, but its worth checking. (Note: I am 36 yrs old female w/ type 1 for twenty five years.)