Anyone been reading Peter Attia?

I discovered him recently and was absolutely delighted that I'm not alone in thinking that obesity is a symptom of T2/insulin resistance and NOT the cause. There's some pretty bad science out there on those lines and it's become something "Everybody Knows" that obesity causes T2 and that PWD can lose weight and be less lazy and greedy and blameworthy. I'm looked at as some kind of an idiot when I suggest it. Sure they've shown a LINK, but not causality. I am not medically qualified, although I have a degree in a biological discipline[from 1970, when it was worth something!] and a very high IQ. Nevertheless nurses, who sometimes know NOTHING about biochemistry or metabolism, at least here in England. are aknowledged experts and I'm a mere eccentric.
thank you so much Dr. Attia!
Hana Rous

1 Like

I am not familiar with him however Brian posted Ralph Difronzo's name online and I looked him up and found an interesting article about recent research on T2 and how it plays out in the treatment arena which is the best one I've found. It's fairly science-heavy but seems to be very comprehensive:

http://diabetes.diabetesjournals.org/content/58/4/773.full.pdf+html

I've watched several videos and also read his blog He's a medical Dr. so he knows biochemistry inside out.

A few years ago he found he was developing Metabolic Syndrome, often a precursor to T2. He was gaining weight despite being an athlete and eating the standard healthy athletic diet (high carb, high protein, low fat). His solution was to cut carbs drastically and raise his fat intake. He lost 40 lbs. and his symptoms of metabolic syndrome disappeared.

His latest project is the Nutritional Science Initiative which aims to fill in the holes in our knowledge of nutrition and get to the bottom of the current obesity/diabetes epidemic.

Here's a video previously shared by Judith, in an earlier post, that touches on the issues you raised, Hanna.