Anyone using symlin with the V-GO disposable insulin Pump

My doctor has prescribed symlin for me but wants me to use it with the V-GO disposable insulin pump. THe problem is that I can't find any info. on this type of therapy anywhere. She said it is a very new protocol. She gave me only limited instruction and I'm already confused. Obviously I will have to go in and get further explanation but I'm wondering if anyone else out there is using symlin in this manner?

I have no experience with Symlin whatsoever since I'm in Canada, but this sounds like a great idea to me, especially if you are on a pump already and don't want to go back to taking an injection at each meal (I know I wouldn't). I don't think Symlin needs to be doses in the same way insulin does, so the limitations of the V-Go wouldn't matter as much.

This is confusing. You have been T1 for more than a decade on the pump. And now you want to switch to the V-Go? The V-Go is oriented towards T2 and only has certain fixed basals, generally not a good thing if you want to set your basal exactly right. Certainly nothing near what you can get with a modern insulin pump. The V-GO is "attractive" to T2s because it is an "easy" pump. And Smylin slows the emptying of your stomach allowing mealtime insulin to better cover meals. And it just seems strange to add smylin, an injected medication and then switch you from a pump to the V-Go presumably to make things "easier." I've just never heard of a dual smylin/V-Go protocol.

I have never heard of anyone using Symlin in a 24hr regiment???? The V-GO starts delivering product as soon as the cannula (Needle) is inserted at a rate of 20-30 or 40 units each day. Sounds like a bad idea to me...a continuous Hypoglycemia regiment...JMHO