Back here after a few years, now I'm on Insulin and being diabetic sucks

I was taking metformin and was misdiagnosed as a Type 2 last time I posted here. After a few years of trying to control by sugars with diet and exercise, I'm now on insulin. After some research I REalized I'm a textbook LADA. My sugars were averaging 200's with daily exercise and a good diet. I feel better now that I'm on insulin. But I'm still getting used to the reality of constantly checking my sugar. Oh and I'm an uninsured professional dancer.

my doc told me I was a mix of type 1.5 and type two and then he rxed metformin and said come back on monday to see if I need insulin. he just said to test, but he didn't tell me when to do it! And he said they give metformin away for free at Stop and Shop!!

That only lasted for a day as it made my vomiting worse- I was already in dka and I ended up in the er/icu on monday in very bad shape. It has been a whirlwind of an introduction to D and I completely understand your feelings about this: D sucks! I would give anything not to be D. But what choice do I have?

As for the testing, I am very bad with needles etc. but I have started to adjust to this- I use the ultra one touch mini lancet with very fine lancet needles, a former diabetic educator at the hospital also told me never to use alcohol, just wash your hands with soap and or run them under warm water. The alcohol dries out your skin and causes calluses. I tried dexcomb- the sensors were too painful for me, but many people seem to love it and to be able to reduce testing with it.

that is great you feel better on insulin- and you have the correct diagnosis and treatment now. I have read online that some companies have programs to get free or low cost insulin and supplies for uninsured people, maybe try to post here and google and see what you can find out?

I hope this helps a bit :)