Can a T1 drive a forklift?

Hey guys, long time no post.

Today I got a job as a material handler. A big part of this job will be driving a forklift, so i’ll need to get a license for that soon.

Does anyone know if D will cause any problems getting a forklift license?

I think you’ll be fine…

I maneuver ships for a living… They’re like forklifts kinda but much bigger. I think individual employers will “license” you to operate their forklifts as to my knowledge there is no state or federal registry. Honestly I wouldn’t even mention it during whatever certification process you’ll be going through unless you feel you truly need a “reasonable accommodation” in order to do the job.

But with any job operating equipment large and powerful enough to hurt people and damage things comes added responsibility of ensuring that your own condition doesn’t affect your ability to do it safely— so be sure to take that responsibility upon yourself and take it seriously.

8 Likes

There are several references to forklift drivers in this article: http://main.diabetes.org/dorg/PDFs/Advocacy/Discrimination/direct-threat.pdf

It seems to boil down to that the company isn’t allowed to ask about your diabetes to start with per EEOC v Murray Inc., EEOC v. Murray, Inc., 175 F. Supp. 2d 1053 (M.D. Tenn. 2001) :: Justia and that they can’t make a blanket decision discriminating against all diabetics. Instead, this has to be decided on a case by case bases, judging upon safety records, etc…

1 Like