Can Type 1 Diabetics also be insulin resistant?

I have been Type 1 for 36 1/2 years and see all the time about Type 2 diabetics being insulin-resistant. I am wondering if, as a Type 1 and getting “Over the Hump” (age almost 43), that is something to possibly consider when going to the doctor on my b-day? I have been using Apidra now for a little over 6 months and have steadily seen my insulin demand go up, even with no infections. I get into problems sometimes where I have Highs, then treat, go hypo, treat with as little as possible, then go High again. This happens for 3-5 days sometimes as many as 5-6 times a day. Last time, doc took me off all insulin for 2 days and could only have clear, non-caloric beverages. Re-introduced insulin to body and things were ok for about 2 years. Just wondering if we can be resistant as well. Any thoughts?

Yes, it’s possible. It’s often called “double diabetes.”

Sure doesn’t seem fair, does it.

I’ll have to ask the doc when I see him on my b-day if he has ever heard of it. If not, then I may need to do some educating. Wondering if we could use some of the drugs for insulin resistance that Type 2’s use because it says not to use them for Type 1 or if you are currently taking insulin by injection?

Could you be reacting badly to Apidra? Some people don’t like it.

Competent in NW PA…not happening. Been from Erie, PA to Pittsburgh, PA and most still blame non-compliance for all issues. Anyone in Western PA, have any good endos to share?

Not sure. Basal is now set at 1.0 for daytime and .8 for overnight, but daytime begins for me at 4 AM, and overnight about 9-10 PM. Could be pain too since I have been fighting a severe shoulder injury for 6 years now and am in constant pain no matter what I am doing. I refuse to take narcotics though because they completely mess up my mind which in turn messes up my control.