Canadian :( Should I just buy Dexcom in the UK?

Here's the low down. I was only just diagnosed with type 1 eight weeks ago just a month short of my 17th birthday. I was really against even getting an insulin pump when they first suggested it. Since then I have done a complete 180 and I am really pushing my Endo to let me get one. Up until two weeks ago I hadn't given much thought to CGM either because to be honest I didn't feel like I needed it and I wasn't thrilled about the idea of a second site. Anyway same story. I did a little more research, got sucked into the benefits of it and now I completely obsessed with it.

Now for the dilemma. Dexcom is not at all available in Canada. The only CGM on the Canadian market is the integrated one on the Medtronic pumps (and I am almost definitely getting the Animas Ping because I'm a lifeguard/ swim instructor and that means I need it to be waterproof). I was considering just going and buying one in the states but then I realized that I wouldn't be able to change the settings to mmol/l. So I turned my attention to the UK version because they use the same units over there. Is it worth it for me to try and get one? Also my insurance company pays over and above for all my diabetes supplies currently but does insurance ever cover out-of-country purchases? And if I did get it could I order sensors and stuff out of the states and would they work with a UK model? Just curious if you guys know anything or have experiences doing this?

Thanks

p.s check out my blog
http://hannathepancreaticallychallenged.blogspot.ca/

Hi Hanna,

I was diagnosed last year, and I feel like my Dexcom is literally a life saver. If I had to buy it out of pocket, it would be worth every penny.

I love it for several reasons:

* It has taught me a lot about how I metabolize different foods. I then use that information to help me play around with my boluses.