CGM & OmniPod Struggles

I’m new to both the dexcom and Omnipod. I previously was on a minimed for 10 years and then took a year and a half break from pumping. I find the pod quite comfortable and love not having tubing. But good god - my sugars are all over the place!

What I’ve suspected, and I’m seeing others talk about on here, is that when I’m high I’m much more insulin resistant. I’ve been running in the 200’s a lot and I get nervous it’s the pod not interacting well with me. I’ve only had one failure. How far in advance are you all blouson for a meal? (I’m using Humalog). I feel like I’m using crazy amounts of insulin to get highs to come down, and they’re taking forever. I’m really frustrated and don’t feel great.

The CGM is going great and I love it. I’m so glad I have it while going through all this and adapting to the new pump.

Uploading…
Uploading…

Hi @Hudson, welcome to the community! you can use the little magnifying glass symbol to search for topics of interest, like timing of bolusing. It sounds like to me you need ome adjusting of your basals and possibly your I:C ratio.

and regarding that failed image upload, you might want to try it again and perhaps use a smaller size image if possible.

Hi @Hudson – I think watching your Dexcom CGM can help inform you about your own personal patterns. I have a few points to make. First, insulin pump therapy is a combination of the continuous drip basal insulin along with the addition of mealtime boluses. If your basal rates are set too low then when you eat, your mealtime insulin can not metabolize all your food since some of it is trying to backfill the shortage of basal insulin.