CGM problems?

I’ve been using the Medtronic Real Time System for about nine months and have had alot of problems with calibrations. The directions say the numbers should be w/in 20% of each other, but I regularly got numbers with 40%-60%discrepencies. Anyone else having problems with this unit? I have the older, bigger transmitter. The people at Medtronic have no solutions for the problem. My A1c’s have been well below 6.0 and I follow the directions to a “t.” Any suggestions or comments?

Mike,
I too have been on the Medtronic RT System since Feb.07. I have found that the times I check (due to required calibration alarms) my blood sugar when the levels are changing rapidly, I will not be very consistent between the two (glucometer and Pump/senser). It’s best for me to try to calibrate when the pump is not showing one or two up or down arrows in the display. However, that’s not always possible.

I have been using the newer transmitter since July . If my number is not stable I do not calibrate until im sure it is . I just lose that time . So if Im do for a calibration at 6 pm I might go ahead and do it at 4 pm if I know my number is steady because anythin can happen by 6 pm . I do find that if i have a extream low or high it is usually just off then untill I recailbrate with steady blood sugar . But for the most part Im getting good results .
Do you calibrate first thing when you wake up ? Also I find it best not to do it before meals …maybe a hr before .

Hello: I do my calibrations at times when my bg is not changing rapidly (no arrows showing). I’d been doing the calibrations before meals and before bed, checking with the Minimed folks as for timing. They say I’m foolowing their instructions. After constant phone calls, they agreed to replace my transmitter (which I don’t believe is the problem) with one of the new generation one’s. I’ll see how that works.
Thanks for your comment, Mike