Clothing for People With Type One

Hey guys! I’m a writer for a fashion website as well as T1. I like to write about the intersection of the two when I get the chance, so I wanted to share this piece I wrote about a new clothing line designed to make living with diabetes a little easier, in case you all hadn’t heard of it yet.

There’s only a women’s line right now, but the designer is going to begin working on a line for kids and teens soon, and do some menswear after that.

The clothes have lots of zippers to make taking injections less complicated, and many of the skirts and dresses have pump pockets as well.

Read all about it and check out her line! It’s called Type One.

Interested to hear what you guys think of the clothes!

Sorta silly. They’ve developed this amazing wearable technology! You wear it on your torso and you can lift it up and administer your shot. Then you just let it go and it falls back into place.

It’s called a shirt.

1 Like

While I see how to some degree (and maybe especially to people who use MDIs) this might seem “gimicky”, I actually appreciate the effort. Thanks for sharing the info!

The clothes actually look nice on their own merits (not completely my style really, what with the crop tops, skin-tight pants and artificial fabrics, but stylish nonetheless). I especially like the sturdy looking loops to pass the pump tubing through!

I use a pump and find dresses to be a particular challenge. (To @Timbeak48’s comment above – to use my pump with a dress, I actually have to go to a bathroom – the only alternative is lifting my skirt in public. Yes, I can potentially remote-bolus from my meter, but not look at my sensor BG-trend displayed on the pump or use anything but a straight bolus, eliminating dual or square capabilities which are not available via remote. You can see how the “amazing wearable technology” has its limits.)