CVS Caremark and the Freestyle Libre

Hi, new user here, a quick search didn’t find discussion on this. If I am wrong, please point me to it.

I got a letter from CVS Caremark recently stating that the Freestyle Libre will no longer be covered, that I have to move to Dexcom (didn’t say which Gx version). I am gathering from a cursory read here that people are less pleased with DexCom than the Libre, but I am welcoming opinions on whether I should switch, vs getting my doctor to provide a “no, he needs to keep the Libre” letter and see if they accept that.

It depends on what you want.

I’ve been paying for the Libre out of pocket for several months, also through CVS Caremark, but I want a system that will alert me to lows and offer me the convenience of not having to scan all the time. That can be disruptive if I’m in a meeting. I started looking at MiaoMiao now that I can use it with the 14-day sensors, but my insurance recently approved me for a Dexcom so I’m moving to that instead.

Most people I’ve talked to have preferred the Dexcom, but there are many people here who do not. Research what both options can offer you and decide what’s right for you based on the results.

I’ve used both and the Dexcom is preferred by far, unless they’ve improved the Libre enormously in the last 18 months.

For me it was substantially more accurate. Lots of other reasons. Would never go back.

1 Like

The Libre is now a 14-day sensor, and works with iOS and any NFC-enabled Android. Dexcom’s list of supported phones doesn’t support mine, so I would be using their reader (as I am doing now with my Libre)

Thanks for your inputs

I used the Libre for a long time and was happy with it, I would adjust for the inaccuracy etc. Until I wore a Dexcom for a few weeks, it can calibrate and because of that alone is so much better.