Day 1 on CGMS

Finally about 6 last night my sensor started working. At first it was giving me much higher readings than what my monitor was saying. Today it seems to be within 5 points of my meter pretty much all the time. This all still feels like a dream to me as I have been fighting for about 5 years to get the latest medical technology and here i am wearing it and to be honest with you I am probably the only one in my city that has the CGMS. I know my pharmacy who caters to diabetics do not deal with the CGMS. My pharmacist told me today that in a few months I will probably be teaching them about the latest technology. My doctor is also very excited about this as well.

You have to have a prescription from your doctor. It my case insurance didn’t pay for it period, I had to pay out of pocket. It comes with a sensor that is smaller than the infusion set for the pump, then it has a transmitter which connects to the sensor. The sensor is inserted like an infusion set. It communicates through radio frequency the same way the meter communicates with the pump. It sends readings every 5 minutes to the pump and you set your low and high thresholds and your pump will beep at you if you are heading towards theses thresholds so you can adjust if necessary. You have to calibrate it with your meter so you get accurate readings. Out of pocket it runs $1000 to start up.

http://www.minimed.com/products/insulinpumps/faq.html
There is a link to it.

Thanks Cody. I’m happy for you. I am waiting for my Guardian CGMS and I am so nervous. I’m scared that I won’t hear the lows if I am alerted at night. Keep me posted on your experiences. Best of luck to you

I don’t really think it i s loud enough to wake me up but it does make an annoying noist that jut seems out of place. I do know if I am in a large group I can’t here it like what happened to day, but what I have done is put it on vibrate.