Delaying dairy?

Hi everyone,

My daughter is almost 8 months old now, and I've been giving her solids since she was about 6 months old (and still breastfeeding). I know there is some evidence to suggest that early introduction of cow's milk carries a higher risk of type 1 diabetes. The current recommendation (what I've heard anyway) is to start yogurt at 9 months and milk at 12 months (not sure about cheese).

I'm wondering if any of you are considering delaying dairy for longer, or not giving it at all? There's probably no evidence to support doing that, but I'm just curious what other people are doing.

Thanks!

I tend to eat a vegan diet and have also read about the connection between cows milk and type 1 diabetes. My daughter is also almost 8 months old and she has been on infant soy formula since birth. She has been doing very well with it. I don't plan on introducing her to cow's milk. I'll start her on soy milk when she's one years old.

We introduced cheese and yoghurt around 9 months. Our son has just turned one year old and I will gradually introduce cow's milk in addition to breastfeeding (which we will continue for now...). So pretty much the recommended schedule. I love that he LOVES cheese and know that he is getting good amounts of calcium and fat from there.

I guess that I am skeptical about the connection between type 1 diabetes and cow's milk, as I was diagnosed with type 1 at the age of 21. I doubt that cow's milk from 20 years earlier was the trigger.

Thanks for your thoughts. I too am a bit skeptical of the link between cow's milk and type 1 (I was 14 at diagnosis). However, I was given cow's milk fairly early (around 7 months, I think) and drank quite a bit of milk growing up. Who knows if that has anything to do with my diabetes.