Dex Com G4 Stand alone versus Medtronic Enlite CGM on my son

My warrenty is up on my son's Animas Ping so we are shopping for a new pump since my son gets a horrible Dexcom Rash. (It looks like a chemical burn).

Currently my 8 year old is wearing two CGM sensors. His Dex G4 and the Medtronic CGM with enlite sensor borrowed from the hospital as a trial.

I am testing his blood with both the ping remote and Medtronic Contour glucometers at the same time.

My son's A1C is 6.0 tested just last week.

I will be posting my results. So far, here are my comments.

I have been using the DEX G4 since FEB/2014 on him and I love:

*the large range so I can have the DEX G4 remote on my nightstand and he can be 20 feet away in his room.
*the bright easy to see screen
*the fact that it vibrates first and if you don't acknowledge, it will alarm.
*the options for the alarm sounds.
*the sensor does not hurt him upon insertion
*that I could get more than 7 days out of his sensor (until he became sensitized to the glue)

As for the accuracy of both you'll have to stay tuned.

I have been using the Medtronic for 3 days and so far I don't like:

DISCLAIMER: There was a lot of blood upon the Enlite 90 degree insertion so perhaps it is not working well.

*The screen is not colorful, it looks green/black and is harder to read, and the screen is smaller than the Dex G4.

*It seems like the darn thing was alarming all of the time. I would shut off the alarms for 3 hours at night so my son could fall asleep.

*Couldn't shut off the alarm for the pump suspend so he woke up anyway despite a false low. So I shut off the pump suspend feature.

*Finally shut off the predictive alerts as it would show 4 something and he was actually 7.1 on the ping and 6.1 on the contour...... thus the darn thing alarming all of the time.