Dexcom Compression Issues

Hey, all! Seasons greetings. I’m new to the Dexcom 6 after a longish break from the D4. I also use the Omnipod and have had site issues with compression. Should I be worried about that with G6 sensor sites? I just inserted a new one and it’s right at my belt line on my belly. Maybe I need to pull out my higher or elastic waisted pant options!?

You surmised correctly. You don’t want it under a waistband.

4 Likes

Thanks Dave. So far no problem but I’ll proceed with caution.

As I am now AARP eligible, I have begun hiking my pants up like all old guys do. If I put the sensor on low on my belly and hike my pants up over it it sometimes works but other times I get a temporary “sensor error”.

Now in the Dexcom promotional videos they show a teen age girl put one low on her belly and then zip high waisted jeans over the site. Lemme tell you, I am no teenager!!!

No teenagers live in my house either!

I wear mine on the back of my arm and some times have compression false lows. Most often when I’m sleeping if I lay on it too long it will cause a sudden drop and alarm.

In the middle of the night when I’ve had a flat sugar for hours and then a sudden drop I’m pretty used to it being that and don’t normally test my sugar. Plus when I get off the sensor it will go back to the correct number quickly.

I can’t see a pattern but some inserts seem to be more compression sensitive but I haven’t identified a pattern yet.

Thanks, Chris. I’ll keep that in mind. I haven’t worn mine on my arm yet, but would like to explore more real estate.

I use the libre miaomiao2 combo, and recently discovered g50 recommended using the chest area above the nipple and its working well so far. I’m on my 3rd day, and used flex fix tape over the entire setup, and feel the accuracy is equal to the arm…probably should not sleep on your stomach, but apparently, you are not suppose to sleep on your stomach anyway…