Dexcom G6 "Firefly" 8G Transmitter and Unsupported Android Phones

I’ve been using the Dexcom G4 since 2012 and an old Medtronic 523 pump since 2013. I’m thinking about switching to the Tslim and Dexcom G6 now, but I have a few questions about data receivers when using the G6 with a Tslim and an Android phone not supported by Dexcom apps.

I’ve read on this site that the new 8G “Firefly” transmitters for the Dexcom G6 do not function with 3rd party apps such as X-drip. Does anyone have first hand experience with this? What about the “Custom Built Dexcom App” that bypasses the check for phone model, but otherwise acts like the standard Dexcom app? (This site is such a great resource for this kind of information - thank you all for sharing your experiences!)

Are there other “second receiver” options people use with the Tslim/G6 combo? I really like to be able to see my data on my desk (or on an arm band while running) at the push of a single button. Data direct to a watch would be ideal, but I’m starting to suspect that will never happen.

My understanding is that if I send Dexcom G6 data to a Tslim pump, I can also send it to a phone or other non-medical device, but not to a Dexcom receiver. Unfortunately, Dexcom doesn’t support my phone or the one I might want next (Moto X4, Pixel 3a).

Where do I see if the transmitter is an 8G or not? I use Xdrip because I also don’t have a supported phone. It is frustrating that the FDA is so particular about the phones. The reason so many apple products are supported is because they all have the same OS for the most part, but different android manufacturers do different modifications to the base version of Android and the FDA feels they are too modified…I find irony in the fact that Dexcom doesn’t support all Pixel devices (which have stock Android) but supports most of the Samsung devices (which run a very heavily modified version of Android).