Dexcom overreacting to exercise

I’ve been using a Dexcom for about 7 months now, a G5 as of September, and one thing I’ve noticed is that it tends to overreact to exercise. For instance I just got back from a 50 minute strenuous bike ride, and by the last ten minutes of the ride it started giving me <80 alerts with a vertical down arrow. When I got in the house it was showing me at 70, still vertical down, but my fingerstick showed a much more moderate 107. Seeing a significant drop during exercise is expected–and desired: I was at a post-prandial 180 at the start of the ride–but I wish there was a way to have the CGM stay more in line with fingersticks and not overreact or overstate the drop.

Does anyone else have this overreaction problem and know a way to ameliorate it? One thing I’m wondering is whether sensor location affects it. I’m wearing it on my lower abdomen and it may be getting jostled quite a bit by the movement of my legs while I’m riding.

I have had that happen to me many times, @DrBB, especially on bike rides. It seems to me that dehydration and sensor location make a big difference there. Sometimes, on a bike ride, when I see unexpected low numbers, I drink some water and wait a few minutes to see if the numbers correct – frequently, they do. Lately, I’ve been wearing the sensors on the side of my chest and have seem a lot less of that kind of problem. When I wear the sensor lower on my abdomen, I get the kind of results you’re seeing.

I ran into that during my short trial of a couple of Dexcoms. Cardio caused inaccurate low readings for me.

The CGM uses interstitial fluid which has like a 15 minute delay from a finger prick. To check to see there is really an overshoot or error you need to check a finger prick and then 15 minutes later see what the CGM reads.