Dexcom thigh placement

Where are you guys placing your dexcoms? For the people that put there dexcom on there thighs. Are you placing it horizontal or vertical?

1 Like

I place mine on my inner thigh, vertically. It works very well for me in that spot.

I’ve been using a Dexcom for a year and four months. Since I pay for sensors, I was scared to use them anywhere other than my stomach, for fear that they’d get pulled out. However, this most recent sensor I got brave and put it vertically on my arm. Best move I ever made. Usually sensors last me about three weeks. This arm sensor is on day 41 and still going strong—no dropouts and minimal weird data—although my skin is reacting horribly to the tape (which I keep changing), very itchy and sore, and I’m sure I’ll rip my skin off when I remove the sensor. :worried: I’m debating trying my leg for my next sensor, but am hesitating because my thigh does not like infusion sets and tends to make them fail within a day.

2 Likes

Awesome!! :smile_cat:

2 Likes

Vertically? Is the small part of sensor going down or up? How far down on your thigh?

Small part down. I move it up and down my inner thigh around halfway between my knee and groin

If it’s any sort of flexible/breathable tape, try soaking it thoroughly with unisolve, or baby oil before trying to rip it off. Or if you’re patient, go for an edge that’s lifting and work it up with a cotton ball that’s soaked in baby oil if the skin doesn’t seem too raw.

Judging by how much itches constantly and hurts when I change tape and the bits of irritated skin peeking out from the edges, I think it’s pretty raw under there! I do have adhesive remover stuff, though, so I’ll definitely be using that. Hopefully it doesn’t sting. :slight_smile:

Do you have any issues with rubbing or getting it caught on clothing?