Did I contaminate my insulin?

Never did this before &, yea, it was stupid.

Took an Apidra injection. Capped the syringe. Was on the phone & gave myself Levemir using the same syringe. I had a second (new) syringe on the counter with the used one & wasn’t paying attention.

Have I now ruined the vial of Levemir? Anyone know if I can continue use it, or do I have to get a new vial? Not even close to the Levemir needing replacement & I hate to have to pay out of pocket for a new one.

I’m not an expert on this, but I believe if you had done it the other way around your would be in trouble (with your apidra), but you are probably find. The binding formulations of lantus and levemir that make them act as a basal can taint rapid insulins and even in small quantities make their action unreliable. In your case, I believe you should be fine. I do know that you cannot mix levemir in a syringe with rapid, but again that is because the rapid acting insulin will have a variable action.

Perhaps others more experienced in these matters can pipe in.

I once bought a battery-powered fridge to take with me on vacation just because I did not know how long insulin would stay potent. I know now that this was a waste of money. Consider conducting a science experiment. Test your bg a little bit more often than you usually would. I bet that you will not notice a difference.

Thanks, Brian.

I’ll be testing a lot to see how badly I screwed up. Not a problem to correct during the day.Worried about Levemir I take before bed. Guess I’ll find out:)

I vaguely remember something about cleaning syringes to reuse them & being cautioned about keeping used cleaned syringes for different insulin separate. Of course, I could have contaminated it just by putting a “dirty” needle in the vial. I wouldn’t be a good junkie!

Thanks, guys!