Diet Sodas and Weight loss

Hi guys I have just recently joined this site and have really enjoyed getting in some of the discussions here. My question deals with drinking diet soda and weight loss. I have been lectured by everyone saying that drinking diet soda is bad for you or that it affects weight loss, but none of those people have the fun complication of type 1 diabetes. So I wanted to ask you guys if you have noticed that you are having trouble losing weight because of drinking diet soda? Any and all opinions welcome.

~Kersten

I have been drinking diet soda for my twenty years with T1 and will not give it up.

My understanding behind the theory that diet soda contributes to weight gain is that they say it makes you crave the sugary taste and then you overindulge with food OR (psychologically) that you think that you’re being healthy by having the diet soda so that then you allow yourself to have that extra cookie. If you’re already a T1 managing your diet through carb counting, exchanges, a prescribed diet, etc, then I don’t see a correlation. If I bolus for 30g of carb and drink a diet soda with my meal, I don’t find myself bolusing for an additional snack later. Perhaps I’m wrong, but I think that it’s one of those theories that holds true for the general population, but not for us…

When I lost weight on Weight Watchers last year (25-30 lbs over about 7 months), I continued to enjoy diet soda in the same quantity I always had.

Thanks for the advice…yeah I have been working out about 6 days a week for the last few months and have only lost 10 lbs, but I am not giving up…it has to come off eventually right :wink:

I used to drink so much diet soda and probably still would but there is a lot of sodium that adds up with each can. I have a problem retaining fluids so switched to diet Lipton Citrus Green Tea. I also notice I feel better with less caffeine in my system which kills me as I am a Starbucks baby.