Dka?

I know this is a bit stupid but when people say they were DKA does that mean they had medical treatment of they went above a gu of 300???

here is a link to the article i wrote: Fear of DKA – what we know, what we don’t, and what we NEED to know

i’m not an expert (even though i’ve had it enough) but i think DKA is only really that when compounded with ketones and elevated glucose levels that won’t come down. you start to feel really sick, get sick to your stomach, and might have labored breathing. if none of those symptoms are present it usually only takes time, insulin, and hydration to get back to normal and keep you out of DKA. if you are feeling these symptoms though, you should get treated ASAP

Great stuff thank you!!

I think I had DKA for about a year…if thats even possible. I wasn’t taking nearly enough insulin and always felt like crap, and lost a ton of weight. Back then a blood sugar of 500 was the norm. I don’t know how I survived that year.

I got diagnosed because I was DKA in the ER with a BG of 809. Was nearly DOA. Felt ill for 3 days & thought I had the flu or pneumonia. Woke up in ICU & the nurse told me I was diabetic. Had no idea how long my BG was creeping up.

DKA can happen within 24 hours like it did with me. If you have 2 spaced blood glucose tests higher than 300, then you’re in DKA.

I went straight through DKA and into a 3 day Coma when I was a Teen-ager. The Drs. told my Parents that I wasn’t going to make it. But as the saying goes, “God don’t want her and the devil’s afraid of her”. :smiley: