Ebbs and Flow of Diabetes Management

I was diagnosed with Type 1 38 years ago at age 19. Some days I get fed up with dealing with the dedication it requires to maintain a healthy life. I have been using a pump for 17 years and have maintained my A1C between 6.0-7.0 the entire time. I do not use a CGM and I do not have complications. I do get tired of messing with everything though and would like a break somedays. It has been important to me to have good control but the older I get the more frustrated I get with it all. I guess I am just venting because today I wish I did not have diabetes. I want a true cure, not more treatments!!!

5 Likes

I feel the same way Lisa. I’ve had it practically 49 years, and my story is like yours! I’ve had my pump over 25 years, and usually am in the 6s w the a1c without a cgm.

what seems to help me the most is to hang out here where everyone gets it.

2 Likes

Thanks Marie.

In moments like these i just wish Ed Damiano or the other Bionic Pancreas People could hurry up a bit more :joy:

1 Like

I suppose if he can get it down to a less cumbersome amount of equipment it would be something. However, I want a cure, not a smart pump or TWO. I have watched videos of the guy creating a patch that normalizes blood sugar/liver function. Sounds like a much better treatment with less bulk and waste, and perhaps, cost for the user.

of course, i just believe the Bionic pancreas guys are closer to a working thing atm.

Hope still gets me through most of my days, and whilst i have maintained my motivation so far, i have no idea how long that will last. So props to you for doing it 38 years! You are awesome! Feeling down sometimes is ok, and we are here to pick you up!!! :muscle:

2 Likes

@Lisa_Craig – You’ve had diabetes a long time. Have you ever done the math for the hours you’ve had diabetes? It really casts a scale so you can appreciate how persistent and durable this extra job is.