Exercise and attitude

When I graduated high school, after 4 excruciating years of PE, I swore I would never exercise again. I remember taking that vow, which I remember VERY seriously.

I was always a clumsy child -- didn't walk until I was 18 months old (VERY late), couldn't figure out how to pedal a tricycle when I was 3, and ALWAYS got hit by the ball when we were forced to play dodgeball in elementary school -- they always made sure I got in the center, so they would have an easy target, and to this day, I'm terrified of balls.

I could never do the suspended ladder (brachiating), nor climb the rope in the gym at high school, and, of course, I was always last chosen for the team sports that we were forced to play.

PE was the terror of my day.

I'm also a person who does NOT gain fitness very much. Years ago, I tried an aerobics class, and did fine in the beginning, but as the course went on, it got harder and harder, and I finally had to drop out because I just couldn't keep up with the routine. Even if the folk dancing I'm doing, there are some dances I sit out of, because I just can't move that fast.

So the reason I'm writing this post is to hear from those who AREN'T super-athletes (I mean YOU, AR!) about how they manage exercise without emotional problems. I've already heard all the advice about finding the exercise you enjoy, and keeping at it and increasing the load or distance gradually. What I'm talking about is that I DO have limits, some of which are physical -- not pain, at all, just I cain't move no faster, and some of which are emotional, which is that exercise has been a dirty word all my life.

I do go folk dancing at least once a week, and my cardiac APN sneered at me that it wasn't cardio (too bad!), and a friend gave me a pair of 3 lb. barbells, and I won't let myself open the computer unless I do some work with the barbells first, but I'm really looking for some help with motivation.

Can you help?